The final presidential encounter of a strange year was against the club of the president, Wellesbourne. Difficulty with available players meant only five rinks played but the County came out on top 111-78.

Chris Dickens (Norgren), Chris Vipond (Matrix), County Secretary Michael Jackson and Junior Vice President David Wigman held the host to just three scoring ends to reach the midway point twelve shots clear. The second half wasn’t much better for home team as they picked up just two more shots, Wigman and co cruising to a 33-7 victory. Past President Aubrey Brookhouse, Paul Brown (Sherwood Park), Boyd Sabin (Norgren) and David Vowles (Avon) also limited their opponents to three scoring ends in the first eleven ends, though only led by seven shots. Vowles’ rink quickly doubled their advantage and took a seventeenth end six to stop any thoughts of a fightback, final score 30-16 to the County.

Dave Miller, Peter Lamb, Les Anscombe and Jeremy Ashley (all Warwick Boat Club) followed the trend of limiting the home club to just three scoring ends in the first half of the game, reaching midway seven shots up. Wellesbourne cut that down by four but a strong final quarter gave Ashley and co a 23-10 win. Victor Mortimer (Tamworth), Arthur Harrison (Avon), Assistant Secretary Bob Allcock and Past President Geoff Moran led by four after nine ends but a six end scoring spell took the home club six shots up with four ends to go. Wellesbourne took most of those ends to seal the 22-13 win.

County President Peter Vale Humphreys, Bill O’Gara (Wolvey), Mark Sinclair (Kineton) and Denis Ward (Southam) trailed by three after ten ends and could only pick up one shot in the next eight ends, the deficit now seventeen. Ward and co won the remaining ends but only put a dent in the shot difference, final score 23-12 to Wellesbourne.


  • 13 Oct
    Executive Meeting 19:00 to 20:00
  • 20 Nov
    AGM 14:00 to 16:00
  • 07 Dec
    Executive Meeting 19:00 to 20:00