Warwickshire hopped the border to face Northamptonshire at Desborough Town BC. The counties both won three rinks though the Bears claimed the game 125-105.

Steve Martin (Bilton), Past President Stan Orton, Martin Preedy (Lillington) and Nigel Moreton (Matrix) found themselves three shots down at the midway stage but went on a scoring spree to lead by seven with six ends left. Northants won the next end and then Moreton and co scored thirteen unanswered shots to seal the 29-10 victory. Doug Pitcher, Ian Kendall (both Rugby Railway), County Secretary Michael Jackson and Pat Sweeney (Matrix) took a five on the eleventh end to lead by six. Another five on the fifteenth end helped the Bears lead by eighteen with three ends left. Both teams increased their scores by three, final score 30-12 to Sweeney’s rink.

David Print (Lillington), Boris Boulstridge (Executive), Chris Vipond (Matrix) and Gary Wilkinson (Grange) were level eight all after thirteen ends but led by one three ends later. The last six ends were all won by singles, five for the Bears and one for the hosts, Wilkinson and co winning 15-10. Past President Graham O’Donohue, Paul Cooper (Nuneaton), Roger Smith (Rugby) and Assistant Secretary Bob Allcock were five down after nine ends. With four ends left that had become six but Allcock and co cut it down to four, final score 22-18 to Northants.

Tony Smith (Avenue Coventry), Match Secretary Mike Hall, Immediate Past President Don Darby and Alan Barker (Kineton) were all square after ten ends and also fourteen ends. Three singles and a pair of fours swung the game in the hosts favour, Barker and co took the last two ends with doubles but lost 17-21. Rick Hayes (Avenue Leamington), Stuart Miles (Rugby Railway), Pete Storer (Grange) and County President Geoff Moran trailed 6-0 after five ends but fought back to trail by one four ends later. A five, three and two took Northants further clear, again Moran and co cut the deficit down but Northants responded every time with more shots, Moran’s rink finishing down 30-19.


  • 16 Sep
    Executive Meeting 07:00 PM to 09:00 PM

  • 14 Oct
    Executive Meeting 07:00 PM to 09:00 PM

  • 09 Dec
    Executive Meeting 07:00 PM to 09:00 PM